CLCrow Photography Blog

Capturing Life At Its Best

Honesty and Integrity Part 2

Three days before the runoff election between Tim Scott and Paul Thurmond, my mother received a postcard from the Scott campaign – one of many that were arriving in her mail box on a daily basis.  As usual it was hatefully attacking Paul. Although, unfortunately this was politics as usual, this postcard had a picture on it of Paul that the Scott campaign had no right to use.  The picture was one that I, as a professional photographer, had taken of Paul during the Tri-County Debate aboard the U.S.S. Yorktown in Mt. Pleasant, S.C. on May 18, 2010.

In case many of you don’t know, the use of someone else’s photographs without their permission is a copyright infringement.   It doesn’t matter that my picture was posted on Paul’s Facebook page – they never asked for my permission nor did they ever offer to compensate me for the use of that picture.  Unfortunately for them, my mother recognized the picture right away as it was a very unusual angle that could not even be duplicated by someone standing right next to me.  But to be sure, she and I compared the two to make certain that it was my photograph.

I am a professional photographer and photography is my livelihood.   Because of that fact, I sent a letter, an invoice, a copy of the flyer and a copy of the photograph to Tim Scott asking to be compensated for my work.   Three days later I received a call from his campaign manager telling me that they received the letter and that they were forwarding it on to their attorney.  No big deal, I was expecting that.  A week later I received a letter from the attorney asking me to call him at my convenience, which I did.   However, he wasn’t in so I left a message on his voicemail.   Needless to say, I didn’t hear back so for the following two days I called him again – both times leaving messages.  On the third day, in my message I told him that if I had not heard from him or the campaign by September 15th,  that I would take my case to court.  Ironically, I got a phone call that afternoon.

It was the longest 6 minute phone conversation that I’ve ever had.  It was not a pleasant one as the attorney was determined to bully me but I answered all of his questions.  He then told me that he would confer with his client and get back to me.  That was on August 26, 2010 and I have yet to hear back.   I left one more message on the 14th of September stating that they had until the next morning to get this issue resolved.  Otherwise I planned to hire an attorney to take this issue to court.  To this day, I still haven’t heard anything and doubt that they have any intention of getting back to me.

This was not the outcome I had hoped for.    I tried to get this matter resolved without involving the courts or smearing Tim but it appears that Tim and his representatives have no interest in working with me or are taking this matter seriously.     As a result I have been forced to file paperwork with the federal court.

Is this the type of politician that we want representing us in Washington?

September 30, 2010 Posted by | Experiences | , , | Leave a comment